Skip to main content
Discovery & User Experience

Understanding the 4 principles of accessibility

According to the CDC, 22% of adults in the United States are living with a disability. Therefore, it’s important that we ensure our web content is accessible and inclusive for everyone. The Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) has developed a set of guidelines to set the foundation for accessible web content. The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), these guidelines have 4 main principles which are Perceivable, Operable, Understandable, and Robust (POUR).

Understanding the 4 principles of accessibility

Text version

Need to know more? The WAI has an in depth reference on the 4 principles with success criteria and techniques.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.